Coronal Loops Workshop Series Bylaws

July 21, 2009 (modified June 23, 2010)

The Steering Committee (SC) makes all official decisions unless otherwise stated in these bylaws. The SC consists of 9 members who serve staggered 6-year terms. Three members are elected by the SC every 2 years. Candidates are nominated by the SC with informal input from the loops community. SC members may serve multiple terms.

The first SC will be elected by the founding members (those who have attended at least 3 of the first 4 workshops). The top 3 vote getters will serve a 6-year term, the next 3 will serve a 4-year term, and the next 3 will serve a 2-year term.

The SC elects a chair every 2 years, after the new members are instated. The role of the chair is to organize the elections of both the SC and the SOC (see below).

Workshops will be held approximately every 2 years.

The Scientific Organizing Committee (SOC) serves for one workshop only and consists of 7 members, including the chair. The chair of the previous workshop is an ex officio member. The remaining 5 members are elected by the Steering Committee from a slate of candidates nominated by the SC with informal input from the loops community. It is highly desirable that the SOC contain a mix of observers and theorists. SOC members may serve multiple times. SC members may serve on the SOC contemporaneously.

The chair of the scientific organizing committee (SOC) oversees all aspects of the workshop, both scientific and logistical, and is responsible for assuring that all important tasks are accomplished. It is highly recommended that the chair recruit help in making logistical arrangements, and he/she is encouraged to appoint a local organizing committee (LOC).

Typically, a person will volunteer to host the next workshop and to be its SOC chair. Thus, the chair will be pre-determined before the SOC is formally elected. In the event that there is more than one volunteer, the SC will decide where the next workshop will be held.